Monday, April 14, 2008

Heat D-League Hero Watch: 5th Edition

It is with great pleasure that I announce the first frontrunner for Heat D-League Hero of the Year. Through the first four contests, we had four separate winners. Not anymore.

Our first repeat champion is ... the defending champ, Stephane Lasme! In what was not a virtuosic night (but better than the others), Lasme edged out Joel Anthony for the honors. The Heat may have scratched out only 76 points in their 84-76 loss to the Cavaliers, but Lasme put in 8 points on 4-7 shooting. Even with the efficient FG%, it was the 3 rebounds and blocked shot that made the difference. We can only hope Joel Anthony finds a way to recover from this kind of disappointment.

Just two games left to play. Lasme can be caught, but time is running out.

1st Edition - Alexander Johnson
2nd Edition - Blake Ahearn
3rd Edition - Kasib Powell
4th Edition - Stephane Lasme
5th Edition - Stephane Lasme


Jay Warman said...

Is Ricky Davis eligible for Heat D-League hero? If so, I nominate him.

E.J. said...

I truly, deeply hope that there is no need for a "Heat D-League Hero Watch" next season.